Task Force Executive Members


Photo: Jason W. Brune Commissioner Department of Environmental Conservation

Jason Brune
Alaska Department
of Environmental Conservation

Jason W. Brune was appointed as the Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Conservation on December 3, 2018. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Brune was the senior director of land and resources at Cook Inlet Region Inc. (CIRI), an Alaska Native Corporation. Mr. Brune oversaw and participated in the development and administration of CIRI’s 1.6 million acres of subsurface resources, including oil, gas, minerals, sand and gravel, and coal. He supervised the team’s staff, environmental contractors, stakeholder management, and legal review, while building relationships with CIRI’s villages. Mr. Brune also worked to identify priorities for addressing contaminated lands. Prior to working at CIRI, Mr. Brune worked for Anglo American as the company’s public affairs and government relations manager.
Brune is also the former executive director for the Resource Development Council. He has a bachelor’s degree in biology from Carleton College and his graduate work was in environmental science at Alaska Pacific University.
He has served on the Alaska Sealife Center Board, Cook Inlet Beluga Whale Endangered Species Act (ESA) Recovery Team, Tyonek Tribal Conservation District Board, the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Public Advisory Committee, and numerous other business and civic organizations.

Phone:(907) 465-5066

Mailing Address:
Department of
Environmental Conservation
555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, AK 99501



Mark Zacharias
Deputy Minister,
British Columbia Ministry of
Environment & Climate Change Strategy

Mark was appointed Deputy Minister for Environment August, 2017. Mark is currently Deputy Minister (DM), Ministry of Environment with British Columbia. He joined the provincial government in 1995 working on land and marine planning issues and has since worked in eight different ministries in a variety of increasingly senior capacities.  Since 2008 he has held ADM positions in post-secondary education, land management, and environment within the BC public service.

Mark is also an Adjunct Associate Professor of Geography at the University of Victoria and Adjunct Professor at the University of British Columbia Fisheries Centre. He has published extensively in the field of ecology and conservation and his second book, titled, Marine Policy: An Introduction to Governance and International Law of the Oceans was published in 2014.

Phone: (778) 698-4908
Fax: (250) 387-6003

Mailing Address:
BC Ministry of Environment
P. O. Box 9339, Stn. Prov. Govt
Victoria, BC
Canada V8W 9M1

Thomas M. Cullen Jr. Administrator Office of Spill Prevention & Response (OSPR) California Department of Fish & Game

Thomas Cullen, Jr.
Office of Spill Prevention &
Response (OSPR)
California Department
of Fish & Wildlife

Thomas M. Cullen Jr. was appointed by Governor Jerry Brown as the Administrator of the California Office of Spill Prevention & Response (OSPR) in June 2012. He also serves as one of two Chief Deputy Directors of the California Department of Fish & Wildlife. Mr. Cullen directs a team of scientists, environmental specialists, game wardens, and support personnel in protecting and preserving 3,427 miles of shoreline and 7,734 square miles of State waters from oil and other deleterious substances as well as invasive, non-indigenous marine species.

Phone: (916)445-9326
Cell: (916)599-6988
Fax: (916)324-9786

Mailing Address:
Department of Fish and Wildlife
P.O. Box 944209
Sacramento, CA 94244-2090

1700 K Street, Ste. 250
Sacramento, CA 95811


Keith Kawaoka
Deputy Director for
Environmental Health
Hawaii Department of Health 

Keith Kawaoka, D.Env., who has been with the Hawaii Department of Health for more than 15 years, has been appointed Deputy Director of Environmental Health. Gov. David Ige confirmed his appointment in April, 2015.

Dr. Kawaoka has extensive environmental health expertise. He brings to the position more than 35 years of experience in the environmental protection field from both the public sector and private industry. He directs the Department’s Environmental Health Administration, which includes the Environmental Management Division, Environmental Health Services Division, and State Laboratories Division, and the HEER Office. Prior to joining the Hawaii Department of Health, he held various senior level positions in both national and local environmental consulting firms.

Kawaoka holds a master’s degree in public and environmental health and a doctorate in environmental science and engineering, both from the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA).

Phone: (808) 586-4249
Fax: (808) 586-4368

Mailing Address:
Dept. of Health
P.O. Box 3378
Honolulu, HI 96801-3378


Photo: Lydia Emer, Administrator for Land Quality, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Lydia Emer
Administrator for Land Quality Programs,
Oregon Department
of Environmental

Lydia Emer is the Administrator for Land Quality programs with the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality. She has served as an administrator since 2014. The division focuses on leadership and direction for coordinated short and long range planning for programs and services provided by Cleanup and Emergency Response, Materials Management, and Hazardous Waste and Tanks to support our agency’s mission to be a leader in restoring, maintaining and enhancing the quality of Oregon’s air, land and water.

Prior to finding a home in environmental quality programs, Lydia performed various roles over 14 years with the Oregon Public Health Division. Her primary focuses were on agency-wide performance improvement and accreditation, and leading efforts reduce the incidence of vaccine-preventable disease in our state. Lydia received a M.S. in Public Administration and Development from the University of Birmingham (2009), United Kingdom.

Phone: (503) 229-5300
Fax: (503) 229-6762

Mailing Address:
Dept. of Environmental Quality
700 NE Multnomah St., Suite #600
Portland OR 97232

Dale Jensen Program Manager, Department of Ecology Spill Prevention, Preparedness & Response Program

Dale Jensen
Program Manager,
Washington Department of
Ecology Spill Prevention,
Preparedness & Response Program

Program Manager Dale Jensen, Department of Ecology Spill Prevention, Preparedness & Response Program, represents the Department of Ecology on the Oil Spill Task Force. Previous to joining the Spills Program, Dale served as manager in the Department of Ecology’s Air Quality and Toxics Cleanup programs. Prior to state service, Dale was a small business owner/operator in retail, agriculture, and environmental consulting.

Phone: (360) 407-7450
Cell: (360) 790-8143
Fax: (360) 407-7288

Mailing Address:
Dept. of Ecology
P.O. Box 47600
Olympia, WA 98504-7600

300 Desmond Dr.
Lacey, WA 98503