Task Force Member Jurisdictions

Oil Spill Taskforce Members

The Pacific States/British Columbia Oil Spill Task Force was authorized by a Memorandum of Cooperation signed in 1989 by the Governors of Alaska, Washington, Oregon, and California and the Premier of British Columbia, following two oil spill incidents. The tank barge Nestucca spilled oil on the scenic coasts of the US State of Washington and the Canadian Province of British Columbia in December of 1988; three months later the T/V Exxon Valdez oil spill in the US State of Alaska sounded an alarm heard coastwide. These events highlighted concerns shared by the US Pacific states with the Canadian Province of British Columbia regarding spill risks from vessel traffic and the need for cooperation across shared borders, as well as a shared concern among West Coast citizens of both the nations to protect their coastal and marine resources.

In June 2001 a revised Memorandum of Cooperation was written to include the State of Hawaii and to focus on emerging spill preparedness and prevention needs for the 21st century. The continuing focus of the Task Force is on fostering regulatory consistency, sharing information and resources, and coordinating development and implementation of new policies and programs to reduce the risk of marine, coastal, and inland oil spills.

The Task Force Members are senior executives from the environmental agencies with oil spill regulatory authority in the states of Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California and Hawaii and the Province of British Columbia. Oil spill program managers from each member agency comprise the Task Force’s Coordinating Committee, which oversees activities and projects as authorized by the Members when they adopt a Five Year Strategic Plan and Annual Work Plans. The Coordinating Committee convenes monthly. The Task Force Members hold an Annual Meetings each Fall, with rotating locations among member jurisdictions. The Task Force Executive Coordinator staffs the Task Force and provides liaison with partners and stakeholders (e.g. industry, agencies, NGOs), arranges and facilitates meetings, develops comments and other documents, and coordinates project implementation.

Click here for Member State Alaska Click here for Member Provence British Columbia Click here for Member State Washington Click here for Member State Oregon Click here for Member State California Click here for Member State Hawaii